RENO, Nev. (July 21, 2022) – Reno Tahoe today announced its Board of Directors elected a new Chair and Vice Chair during its regular meeting on Thursday, July 14.

“I’m proud to represent the City of Sparks and all of Reno Tahoe, as we work together to support Northern Nevada businesses and communities through tourism,” said incoming Reno Tahoe Chair and Sparks City Councilwoman Charlene Bybee. “It’s a privilege to serve with this esteemed group of community leaders and the Reno Tahoe team. I’m excited to be involved in the development, promotion, and continued evolution of our wonderful destination. Today more than ever we are a destination of choice, offering unique experiences for our visitors.”

Chair Bybee was first elected to the Sparks City Council in 2014 and serves as Mayor Pro Tempore. In 2019, she retired from American Airlines after 42 years as a Flight Attendant. She has served the community as President of the Junior League of Reno, with United Way, PTA, Safe & Healthy Schools Committee, EDAWN and as Chair of the Sparks Redevelopment Agency. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Nevada, Reno where she was a student athlete.

Reno Mayor Hillary Schieve was elected Vice Chair and Stephen Ascuaga, corporate director of business development for Peppermill Casinos Inc., retained his position as Secretary/Treasurer. Jessica Sferrazza was elected to serve a new two-year term as a representative of the Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority.

Reno Tahoe is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, representing a variety of business and community groups in Washoe County. The groups represented include gaming, general business and air service. The cities of Reno and Sparks are represented, as well as the Washoe County Commission and the Incline Village Crystal Bay area of North Lake Tahoe. The Chair seat of the Reno Tahoe Board of Directors must be occupied by one of three elected officials, with other appointments being open to all Board Members.

Click here for a full list of Reno Tahoe Board Members.

Charlene Bybee RSCVA Board Member